How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp 2022

If you’re wondering how to use disappearing messages on WhatsApp, read this article now!

The private messages or disappearing messages feature on WhatsApp is a great way to keep in touch with friends and family without worrying about the privacy of your conversations. 

You can easily send and receive messages without anyone else seeing them, and you can even keep your conversations private if you want. 

In this article, we’ll show you how to use disappearing messages on WhatsApp, step by step.

Read on to find out more!

Recommended Read: How to Use Private Messenger on Facebook

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

What are WhatsApp Disappearing Messages?

WhatsApp is a messaging app with a massive user base. It’s used to communicate across platforms (phones, computers, and even tablets) and is one of the most popular apps in the world. But what are WhatsApp Disappearing Messages?

WhatsApp’s Disappearing message feature is quite like their regular messaging service, but with a twist. All your conversations are encrypted so no one can gain access or view messages you’ve sent to your family and friends.

This feature lets you send and receive messages in private that only you and the other person have access to. Apart from maintaining your privacy, the Private messages will also completely disappear once the pre-set time limit has run out.

With your WhatsApp account, you are able to use both the regular WhatsApp messages and the Secret Conversation simultaneously on different chats with different users. 

Private Messages or WhatsApp Secret Conversations is currently available to those using any Android or iOS device and you will also be able to access private messages if you have the latest WhatsApp app installed on your PC.

Starting a WhatsApp Private Conversation on iOS

Before you can send a secret or private message to anyone over WhatsApp, you will have to first enable the Secret Conversation option from within the WhatsApp Messenger.

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

Here’s how you enable and use WhatsApp Private Messenger.

  • Start by opening WhatsApp on your iPhone/iPad and then tap on the messages icon.
  • Select the conversation you want to convert to a Private chat
  • Tap on the user’s profile image and then click on Disappearing messages.
  • Enable disappearing messages by clicking on Yes.

Once this option is selected and enabled, you are now able to send secret messages to your friends and family which will automatically get deleted from your device and chat history within 7 days.

  • In order to go back to the regular mode, follow the same steps mentioned above to turn off the message timer and any messages sent post that will remain in your WhatsApp chat history and can be extracted in a csv/pdf file.

WhatsApp Messenger for iOS will notify you when you receive a new message notification on your lock screen. Unlike regular messages, the notification will only alert you that there’s a new message and will specify the name of the contact but not the contents of the message.

Starting a WhatsApp Private Conversation on Android

Using WhatsApp private messenger on an Android device is the same as that of Apple’s. You’d need to have the WhatsApp app installed on your device in order to send and receive secret messages.

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

Here’s how you can start and use secret conversations in Messenger for Android.

  • Start by opening WhatsApp on your Android phone and then tap on the messages icon.
  • Select the conversation you want to convert to a Private chat
  • Tap on the user’s profile image and then click on Disappearing messages.
  • Select one of the most appropriate time slots; 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days and whatever you send to that contact will get erased from the WhatsApp message history once the selected time frame is done.
How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

Once this option is selected and enabled, you are now able to send secret messages to your friends and family.

  • In order to go back to the regular mode, follow the same steps mentioned above to turn off the message timer and any messages sent post that will remain in your WhatsApp chat history and can be extracted in a csv/pdf file.

However, there is a possibility that the person you’re sending the message to can take a screenshot and share that with their friends. Make sure you don’t send any inappropriate messages to people who you don’t trust with your life.

Can I Send a WhatsApp Disappearing Message on a PC/Mac?

Yes, you can send disappearing messages and private messages on WhatsApp for PC. The steps and procedure are quite similar to the ones you’d follow for iOS and Android. 

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp
  • Start by opening WhatsApp on your PC/Mac.
  • Select the conversation you want to convert to a Private chat
  • Tap on the user’s profile image and then click on Disappearing messages.
  • Select one of the most appropriate time slots; 24 hours, 7 days or 90 days and whatever you send to that contact will get erased from the WhatsApp message history once the selected time frame is done.

How to Change the Disappearing Messages Settings in WhatsApp

How to Use Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

To change the disappearing messages on WhatsApp there are two methods you can follow.

Via WhatsApp Settings

If you change the disappearing messages settings through the Settings, the change in the disappearing message timer affects all private chats that you open or create.

  • Launch WhatsApp on your PC, Android or iOS device
  • Tap on the three dots and open Settings 
  • Click on Privacy and then select Default Message Timer
  • Here you will be presented with either Yes or No (iOS devices) or 24 hours, 7 days, 90 days on Android devices and your PC.
  • Select the appropriate message timer

All new messages that you create post this will have the message timer that you set and while this affects only new conversations, your old messages will not be affected.

Via Individual Chats

The second method to change the disappearing messages timer is by accessing the individual chat and changing the timer from within the chat itself.

  • Open WhatsApp and select the conversation you want to make changes to
  • Tap on the user’s profile and then click on Disappearing messages.
  • Since the option has been enabled, select a longer or shorter time frame from the list
  • Close the page

You chat with the user will not have a new timer set and any messages sent to them will automatically get deleted once the time is up.

Points to Remember

  • You won’t be able to copy, save or forward disappearing messages.
  • Accounts that you haven’t connected with before can’t send you message requests in vanish mode.
  • You can only use vanish mode in a chat with another WhatsApp account. You won’t be able to use it in a group chat or in a chat with a Messenger or Facebook account.

Only use vanish mode with people that you trust. For example, it’s possible for someone to:

  • Take a screenshot or screen recording of a message in vanish mode before it disappears. You’ll receive a notification if this happens.
  • Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.

FAQ’s

Does WhatsApp automatically turn on Secret Conversations?

Well, in short, no. WhatsApp does not enable this option by default and you will have to toggle between the normal messenger and the private messenger manually. Only with disappearing messages enabled will your messages get deleted automatically.

Can someone access WhatsApp Private Messages even after they have been deleted?

No, hidden messages on WhatsApp get automatically deleted once the timer has expired. There’s no way for a third-party individual or yourself to gain access to messages that have already been deleted on WhatsApp disappearing messages.

Can I download hidden messages from WhatsApp?

Unfortunately you can not download any of the hidden or private messages on your smartphone or PC. The encryption settings on WhatsApp do not permit users to download hidden messages even if you’re creating a backup of your content.

Takeaway

WhatsApp’s hidden messages is a god send considering that not many private messaging services are integrated into social media platforms.

As with any private messaging app, it’s best to be careful who you’re messaging and what’s being sent/received. 

Also Read: